Because there aren’t enough blogs out there already…

2

July 10, 2012 by Will Ray

Hello Friends, Family, and anyone random who may have stumbled upon this blog;

This is the inaugural post of my blog, for now titled William Ray – Life. Ministry. Money., and hosted here at willrray.wordpress.com. Thanks for stopping by, on full web or mobile!

I don’t know if it’s the first question that comes to your mind, but I feel that the first question I have to answer when writing is – Why a blog?

There’s a few reasons for a blog.  Sarcastically I’ve replied that “Well there aren’t enough blogs out there already, so I thought I’d start one!”  Nope.  In reality, my hope is that this will not simply add to the noise, but to do something productive for both of us.

I’ve not been able to source the quote word-for-word, but one of the most prominent bloggers I know, Jon Acuff, made the point that blogs are a great place to flesh out, test, and try ideas.  He said a blog is like a laboratory that you can experiment on ideas, or even like an Octagon in which you can beat up bad ideas.

This is going to be a great way to talk out, define, discuss, and flesh out ideas and thoughts that I’ve had recently.  It’s also a great opportunity to build a “Platform” (thanks Michael Hyatt) to be able to talk about the things I believe in and care about, summed up in the “Life. Ministry. Money.” header (more on that to come).

My lovely wife, Nancy Ray (a blogging champ in her own right), has been lovingly prodding me to do this for a while, in response to the many discussions we have over dinner and in the car about ideas I have, discussions I’ve been in, issues I’ve faced, and our ideas to deal with challenges.  Something tells me these things aren’t unique to me, but are of a more universal breed – [almost] everyone has faced them.  My hope is together we can come to a better understanding and help one another live better, stronger lives because of the sharpening effect of communication.

If you’re still reading, I’ll do my best to post on a regular basis (at least a few times a week), because I don’t expect you to read regularly if I’m not going to write regularly – duh.  I’d love your feedback – good, bad and ugly – on everything from my grammar to the point I made to the look of the page.  Yes, feel free to praise my grammar!

So, what do you think about the look/feel of the site?  Feel free to leave a comment below!

2 thoughts on “Because there aren’t enough blogs out there already…

  1. Nancy Ray says:

    So proud of you! Excited to read all your posts to come; you have so much to offer. Love you.

  2. The millers says:

    You are off to a great start—and you’ve acted! We look forward to future reading.
    Proud of you!

Leave a Reply

About me…

Youth minister, financial coach and part-time wedding photographer, based in Raleigh, NC

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

